Donald Anderson Pegg Student Leadership Award

This award was created in collaboration with Sami Beg to help empower students and faculty members to create and sustain Lifestyle Medicine interest groups, as a way to bring in the crucial information about exercise, nutrition, sleep, stress resiliency, social connections and substance use into curriculum at any school in an easy and effective way without being part of the core curriculum. It is a great first step for any medical school or other health professional schools to work Lifestyle Medicine into the fabric of the school and into the lives of students. 

- Elizabeth P. Frates, MD, FACLM, DipABLM

This award is in honor of Donald A. Pegg, a New York City business man who suffered a heart attack and a stroke in 1986 when he was 52. In response to this health set back, he went on a mission and searched for ways to prevent it from happening again. He participated in residential intensive lifestyle change programs, added fruits, vegetables, more whole grains, and healthy protein to his diet as well as started riding a stationary bike religiously five days a week.

With this regimen and his medical care, Donald was able to live the best years of his life after his heart attack and stroke, enjoying 27 additional years with family and friends. Donald served as an inspiration to many, especially his daughter, Elizabeth Pegg Frates, who has spent the past 30 years researching, studying, teaching, and practicing Lifestyle Medicine.

Beth and her family have donated a yearly grant of $5000 to the American College of Lifestyle Medicine in honor of Donald to help the college further the cause of Lifestyle Medicine through work with young aspiring health care students.

Lifestyle Medicine Interest Groups

Donald and his family believe in the power of Lifestyle Medicine to transform lives and help individuals be healthier and more productive. The award was established to encourage leadership in Lifestyle Medicine at the student level for the advancement of this important field of health care. The goal of the award will be to establish Lifestyle Medicine Interest Groups (LMIG) at medical schools and other health care professional training programs in the country and abroad.

The LMIG originated at Harvard Medical School as a parallel curriculum for medical students. It provides an opportunity for students to meet fellow students with similar interests. In addition, students can meet faculty who are actively involved with Lifestyle Medicine practice, education and research. The LMIG students gather together several times a year to hear lectures by faculty and practitioners with a passion for Lifestyle Medicine and a passion for teaching.

Our Past Awards Recipients


Nicole Almeida | UniCEUB
João Paulo Batista de Souza
| Unila - Univerdidade Federal da Integração Latino Americana
Madeleine Jacques
| Eastern Virginia Medical School
Lauren Kanzaki
| The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Neil Kelly
| Weill Cornell Medical College
Alyssa Kramer
| Trinity College Dublin
Hannah Maddox Rhea
| Indiana University
Brooklynne Palmer
| University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Anthony Rizzo
| Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Lora Stoianova
| SUNY Downstate
Nicholas Sweet
| Idaho State University
Emily Wey
| Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine - Dublin Campus


Daniel T. Gorenstin | Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (Unirio)
Lisa Kisling Thompson | University of Colorado
Krystyna Rastorguieva | Emory Rollins School of Public Health
Tatiana Znayenko-Miller | The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences


Kacie Amacher, MS-III | Keck School of Medicine of USC
Saul Baustista , MS-IV | Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Alexander Buell, MS-III | Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine
Erica Veazey | Brown Medical School


Albert Barrera | University of Florida
Alicja Baska | Medical University of Warsaw
Alyssa Greenwell, OMS-II | Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Paresh Jaini, OMS-IV | University of North Texas Health Science Center


Jessie Hipple | Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy
Elaine Poling | Oakland University School of Medicine
James Gardner | University of Utah School of Medicine
Alyssa Abreu | Stephen F. Austin State University
For questions email